A Time For New Things (Like My New Site!)

“New Life” is a popular springtime theme for good reason. Seasons seem like such a good idea, to me. I know that different parts of the globe experience this time of year in their own ways; here in Colorado, it’s so refreshing to see the trees and garden plants come to life after looking so dry and brown for several months.

I love that the daffodils and lupine bloom at the same time - they are so pretty together!

I love that the daffodils and lupine bloom at the same time – they are so pretty together!

I was brought up in a Lutheran church, and many of my friends were Catholic. The season surrounding Easter was certainly filled with reminders of new life, and was attended with a sense of awe and reverence as we all celebrated the resurrection of Christ. Later, as I came to know some Jewish friends, I became aware of a much older story of newness – a new start for the nation of Israel as they were miraculously delivered from their captivity in Egypt. Learning the connection between this story and my own faith has made this time of year much richer for me and my family.

Many health traditions honor the themes of cleansing and newness, too. Ayurveda, in particular, encourages us to avail ourselves of all the new plant life, greater periods of sunshine and fresh air to cleanse ourselves and assist our bodies in creating new, healthy cells. It seems everyone is talking about “detoxing” these days – and with good reason! This season is a perfect time to detoxify ourselves to the best of our ability. Let’s clean up!

But, breaking out the ammonia and heavy-duty cleaners that my mother used is about the farthest thing from detoxifying my environment. These cleaners occupy the shelves on the aisle of the grocery store that I avoid whenever possible! They are full of dangerous toxic and carcinogenic chemicals, many of which go straight to our cells, bypassing our natural filters, the liver and kidneys. Sadly, even many such products which pretend to be safe or “green” are not.

DSCN4575

I want to deep-clean my house as much as the next person when the warm breezes blow. Fresh air, sunlight, growing plants in the home, and true natural cleaners like lemons, baking soda, vinegar and coconut oil leave my house clean and free from the toxic chemicals in harsh commercial cleaners. And I don’t have to hide these things when children are near. An added bonus is that they are extremely inexpensive to use!

7th Gen Laundry soap

That said, there are a few commercial products that I use. Just because a product is environmentally friendly does not mean it has to be sub-standard in quality. The two commercial cleaners I use nearly all the time are both from Seventh Generation. I use their laundry detergent, and also their dishwasher detergent. Usually, I clean my bathtub with vinegar, baking soda, or a combination of the two. When it’s particularly dirty, I sprinkle a little Seventh Generation dishwasher detergent in the tub, let it sit for a couple of minutes, and scrub with a Scotch Brite pad. No chemical could do any better, I assure you.

What else is new? I’m on the verge of launching my new website! After a couple of years of being somewhat scattered in my “online presence,” I soon will have this very blog on my health coaching website. I have certainly appreciated having the site that I started through my school when I became certified as a health coach! But now, it’s time for LifeSong Nutrition to have a home of its own.

Lifesong Logo color_160x160

I will be posting some new recipes and health tips, and more on a regular basis. My eBooks will be available on the new site, and I plan to offer recordings of my webinars within a few weeks.  I’m also excited to be bringing you some videos! Like my blog posts, I will aim to keep them as short and succinct as possible, so that you can check them out without having a big chunk of your day sucked away.

I’ll be offline for a couple of weeks, and then I’ll be up and running again, with wellness and food news and helpful information. I hope you enjoy your spring, wherever you are. And, I’ll miss you while I’m gone, so please join me at LifeSongNutrition.com as soon as ever you can!

Leave a Reply

