It’s Spring! What’s For Breakfast?

Breakfast food is so great that people put it in it’s own category. When you eat “breakfast food” at another time of day, it’s sort of a big deal. I always used to love going out for breakfast or brunch, when it was acceptable to eat foods from the “breakfast” category or the “lunch” category, and there was usually a huge buffet table. Even with some dietary limitations, I can often find delightful selections of fruits & veggies, eggs, meat or fish, and all sorts of goodies. And, I still get to drink coffee at such a meal!

Breakfast with friends - gluten free waffles, fresh organic berries, nuts and the best lattes ever...not to mention, the pleasure of company

Breakfast with friends – gluten free waffles, fresh organic berries, nuts and the best lattes ever…not to mention, the pleasure of company

When we think of springtime, we imagine all things green. If you’re into seasonal eating like I am, you may be turning your attention to the wonderful specialties of this season. It’s still early, but already green things are appearing in my garden. There’s still snow on the ground, but my little spinach is happily growing under the white blanket. It’s there due to the few plants I allowed to go to seed last fall. The strawberries are beginning to look a little lively, too. Oh, I won’t be eating berries from my garden for a while, yet. But I’ll be on the lookout for them at the markets. Of course, the dandelions are making their come-back, too.Getting any breakfast ideas yet?

baby spinach already in the garden

baby spinach already in the garden

All of this green stuff points to a couple of key features for spring’s unique offerings. First, leafy greens and tender new green plants are full of healthy goodness in the form of vitamins, minerals, and what we could generally call “phytonutrients.” That’s just a fancy word for nutrition from plants. There are phytonutrients that have only recently been discovered, and probably many more of which we know nothing. We mostly hear about things like folate, vitamin C, iron, beta-carotene, and chlorophyll.

The other thing that’s noteworthy about these plants is their capacity to cleanse & detoxify our systems. Chlorophyll is what gives these plants their lovely color, so look for greens that have rich color. This substance cannot be made in the plant without the sun, and is really good at purifying and cleansing blood. Dandelions are famously helpful for detoxifying the liver. Just imagine all the little forest animals, chewing on tender greens in the springtime, after a winter of old stuff that grew months ago.

More actual green stuff than fruit or sweet veggies - I'm feeling cleaner already!

More actual green stuff than fruit or sweet veggies – I’m feeling cleaner already!

So, these days, I’m starting my days with a nice green juice. It’s so satisfying that I really don’t need to eat breakfast until sort of late in the morning. (But then, I’ve never been an early morning breakfast-eater.) When I do eat my first meal of the day, It’s often eggs with sauteed greens like Swiss chard, spinach, beet greens or kale. (I can cook this more quickly than my hubby can fix his bowl of cereal, so don’t think it takes too much time!) Sometimes, I start with a smoothie made from greens and berries. For a treat, I will occasionally make cultured oatmeal or hot cereal with berries or cherries, or sourdough gluten free pancakes with cultured berries. Yum!

Okay, I really don’t intend to just taunt you with all this talk of food and not give you a recipe. I posted this one quite a while ago, so I’m going to link to it again. It’s for a very simple kale & lemon tahini sauce, which I often serve for breakfast with eggs. Click here to see that post. And, if you click here, you can see the post I did last spring for my strawberry super-smoothie recipe.

For my green juice, I will fill over half the volume with actual greens – not just a handful drowning in a few cups of fruit juice. Celery, cucumber, spinach, kale, chard, cilantro, parsley – all these work beautifully. Then, I will add a small amount of sweet vegetable like carrot or beet, plus a small amount of fruit like pineapple, apple or orange. I usually finish off with a bit of something really healthful and in the “specials” category, such as ginger root, lemon or lime.

Green juice!

Green juice!

For the real recipe I want to share with you, you’ll have to wait until tomorrow. I like to keep these posts short. (Who has time to read the long ones?) Tomorrow’s post will be a recipe for sourdough pancakes with cultured berries. A springtime favorite around my house, I think it will be worth the wait!

 

 

Leave a Reply

