At Long Last, the Pumpkin Pie Recipe!

Why “at long last?” Because I am late posting this. It’s a season that is surprisingly full of meetings, events, and deadlines, and I am behind. I mentioned in my last post that I would give the recipe for the pie I made last week, and that is what I intend to do before another day goes by.

The pumpkin used in the pie was from my garden, and was baked at 330 degrees (more or less) by first cutting it in half, scooping out the seeds (which I saved to plant next year), and placing on a coconut-oil-covered baking sheet in the oven. I had a busy day in progress, and I really don’t know how long that pumpkin was actually in the oven. It was soft but not burned when it came out (perhaps 45 minutes?) later.

cooked pumpkin

I stored the half I did not use last week in the fridge, and made another pie today, so I could show it to you. If this was terribly time-consuming or difficult, I would not do it! So, this is for all of you who are intimidated by the prospect of making such a pie from scratch.

The first step is to begin the crust by placing 1/4 cup coconut oil and 1/4 cup butter in a pie pan, and putting it into the oven just after turning the oven on, set to 450 degrees. It’s not too warm, so in a few short minutes, you can have melted stuff without burning it. Meanwhile, I set up my food processor and put the cooked pumpkin in. I’m guessing there was about 4 cups. Then, I pulled the melted stuff out of the oven and added the flours.

melting the fat

Here’s what I used for the crust: 1 cup brown rice flour, 1/3 cup buckwheat flour, 1/4 cup sorghum flour, 1/4 cup tapioca flour, and 1/4 cup ground seeds (pumpkin, sunflower & sesame seeds & pecans). I put all of this right into the pie pan and mixed it thoroughly with the melted fats. The consistency of this mixture should allow you to easily form a ball (though there’s really no need to!) Next, I added the liquid, which was an egg white mixed with a couple of tablespoons of water. I did not use all of this mixture, as it would have made the dough too wet. I probably had nearly half of it left, which I added to the pie filling in the food processor.

DSCN5431

Now the crust was ready to be pressed into shape. I know people talk about rolling gluten free crust between wax paper. You can do that if you like. I find this method much easier and faster (and less frustrating). I like to press it out so that there’s plenty to pinch into a pretty border, and there certainly is enough dough in this recipe to allow for that.

DSCN5433

Back to the filling. To the pumpkin add 3 more eggs, 2 tablespoons blackstrap molasses, 1/3 cup organic sugar, 4 tablespoons each of tapioca flour and brown rice flour, 1/2 cup coconut milk from a can or coconut milk creamer (real cream would work; I just can’t have it right now), and the spices, You can use a premixed pie spice or this: 1 teaspoon cinnamon and 1/2 teaspoon each ground ginger, nutmeg and clove. Finally, add 1/4 teaspoon salt.

DSCN5434

Now, whiz all this around in the machine and pour it into the prepared pie shell. Bake at 425 degrees for 10 minutes, then, without opening the oven, turn the temperature down to 350 degrees and set your timer for another 50 minutes. The edges of the pumpkin should look dry when it comes out. I may have let mine cook a bit longer, as I went out to the garden and the timer was off when I arrived back at the kitchen.

This really is delightful and nutritious all at once. I’m so excited to have it for dinner again!

Here’s a list of all the ingredients for this pie:

Filling –

4 cups cooked pumpkin

3 eggs, plus whatever is left from making the crust

1/3 cup organic sugar

2 tablespoons blackstrap molasses

1/2 cup coconut milk (canned)

4 teaspoons brown rice flour

4 teaspoons tapioca flour

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon each ground ginger, nutmeg, and cloves

1/4 teaspoon salt

Crust –

1/4 cup melted butter

1/4 cup melted coconut oil

1 cup brown rice flour

1/3 cup buckwheat flour

1/4 cup sorghum flour

1/4 cup tapioca flour

1/4 cup ground seeds & nuts

1 egg white, beat with

2 tablespoons cold water

1 Comment

    Trackbacks

    1. Pecan Pie I’m Not Afraid To Eat | MollieSong

    Leave a Reply

