What They Don’t Tell Us

Last year, I embarked on a singular experience. I attended the Health Coach Training Program at the Institute For Integrative Nutrition in New York, via their online programming. During the course of the school year, I learned a ton of new information, and as a result, re-evaluated all sorts of aspects of my life. One thing that surprised me was how much corn I had been eating.

If you’re wondering why this matters, I was thinking about corn, as it is one of the foremost genetically engineered crops in the U.S.A., and I was thinking that it may not be such a great thing to consume lots of this common food. Here are some of the things I was eating quite often:

Corn in almost everything - illustration by Mollie Walker Freeman

Corn in almost everything – illustration by Mollie Walker Freeman

taco shells

frozen corn

corn cereals

corn on the cob

tortilla chips

cornmeal/cornbread

I’m not unusual in my corn consumption. I take that back, because for the past several months, I’ve eaten almost no corn at all! Most people also consume a lot of corn syrup, and that big baddie, high fructose corn syrup, which is ubiquitous in our grocery stores here in the United States. I have been avoiding many processed foods, and especially corn syrup for years, so I was not concerned about this.

The question is, “Why is corn bad (if it is, indeed, bad at all)? And, just how bad is it?” Let me say that I’m not really talking about organic corn, although many nutrition experts currently feel that we Americans are consuming far too much grain in general – that’s another topic. Today, I’m looking at genetically engineered corn. It seems France, for one, has decided that this type of corn could be so bad that they have reportedly taken “emergency” measures to ban the sale of it in their country.

On a cross-country drive, I saw almost nothing but corn fields for 22 hours straight. That's a lot of corn!

On a cross-country drive, I saw almost nothing but corn fields for 22 hours straight. That’s a lot of corn!

I was recently reading this article from Dr. Mercola (click here to see it), which is about a year old, and I also listened to the 5 minute video. After hearing what was going on, my husband called out from the next room, “I know you’re trying to be all positive and everything, but I think you should write about that in your blog.” So, I am. Dr. Mercola can be a bit of an alarmist, as I have mentioned before. His headlines often remind me of the tabloid papers my mom used to read when I was young. But still, I have great respect for the guy, and he does his research and documents everything.

I did a little digging of my own, and learned that Dr. Mercola is far from alone in his alarm over this topic. Yet, I do strive to keep this blog brief & concise, since we all have things to do besides read blog posts. Suffice it to say that what I learned in this article makes some things really clear to me, like how some large corporations can claim that their products are “safe” even according to “studies.”

illustration by Mollie Walker Freeman

illustration by Mollie Walker Freeman

What they don’t say is that the studies our government requires in order to approve such things are short. Even for a rat, 90 days is not much time. What if massive tumors develop 10 months later, yet way before the rats would have naturally expired, cutting their lives short? Do you think maybe we don’t know exactly what the actual long-term effects from eating genetically engineered corn may be?

Things already don’t look good for GE corn. I predict that things are going to be looking worse and worse for all GE foods. Of course, I’m not alone. There are lots of you who share my suspicions. My question for you today is, “How much of this stuff are you eating? Have you thought about it?” As always, I’d love to hear your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

