Veggies For A Day – 3 Plates Full?!

Did you eat a vegetable today? Can you remember it? Lot of people have trouble getting those 5 recommended servings of fruits and veggies each day. Many of the clients I see can manage to eat a piece of fruit each day. It’s not uncommon, however, to see people who can recall having eaten only 1 or 2 vegetables in an entire week, especially if we don’t count ketchup or french fries!

A couple of times each week, I like to start my day out with fresh juice. This juice was made with Swiss chard, celery, beet,tomato, a small piece of apple, and a couple of tiny plums from my tree.

A couple of times each week, I like to start my day out with fresh juice. This juice was made with Swiss chard, celery, beet,tomato, a small piece of apple, a few grapes, and a couple of tiny plums from my tree.

Last week, I mentioned that one of my new nutrition heroes is Dr. Terry Wahls, a medical doctor who recovered from MS using food. If you have not yet checked out her YouTube videos, I strongly encourage you to do so! She is very inspiring, if a bit intimidating. Why intimidating? When it comes to vegetables, her recommendation is almost unbelievable. I already thought I ate a lot of vegetables; now that I am trying to do what she recommends, I’ve had to completely shift my paradigm.

For breakfast, I had these left over sourdough pumpkin spice pancakes, made with pumpkin from my garden. Almond & flax meal add protein and good fats, and I also spread them with cashew butter.

For breakfast, I had these left over sourdough pumpkin spice pancakes, made with pumpkin from my garden. Almond & flax meal add protein and good fats, and I also spread them with cashew butter.

Dr. Wahls wants us to cover 3 dinner plates with veggies – one plate of dark green leafy veggies, one with sulfur-rich veggies, and one with brightly colored veggies. Since I was already eating about half that amount, it wasn’t an impossible stretch for me to do this. I wanted to show you how I was able to do it yesterday, although I don’t think I quite made the quota of sulfur-rich foods. Yesterday was a typical day for me, but I do vary what I eat according to the season, how busy I am, and other factors. I’m not one to eat the very same things day in and day out. I just wanted to show you that it’s possible!

Lunch - a large Nutri-blast smoothie made with mixed baby greens, avocado, yellow squash, beet, blueberries, and a bit of frozen o.j. and cinnamon for flavor. It also contained sheep yogurt, nuts, coconut oil, and raw protein powder from Garden of Life.

Lunch – a large Nutri-blast smoothie made with mixed baby greens, avocado, yellow squash, beet, blueberries, and a bit of frozen o.j. and cinnamon for flavor. It also contained sheep yogurt, nuts, coconut oil, and raw protein powder from Garden of Life.

Also, I wanted you to know that I did not photograph every single thing I ate, since I was just trying to show the vegetables. In addition to what you see here, I also had a handful of sunflower seeds, and a bite-sized piece of dark chocolate. I also had a small cup of kvass, a fermented beet drink. (I have something fermented at least once a day.) This morning, I was almost sad that I could not include today’s breakfast, because I was able to harvest some fresh broccoli from my garden, saute it with a bit of kale, and eat it with an egg and some gluten-free whole-grain toast. But, alas, you won’t see that, so you’ll just have to use your imagination.

Snack - celery with sunflower butter. Yum!

Snack – celery with sunflower butter. Yum!

One more thing. I really want you to know that these foods are extremely satisfying! It may seem to some of you like I didn’t eat that much food. But, I assure you, I’m not starving, not even losing weight. The lovely thing about really nutritious foods is that you don’t feel hungry when you eat this way. Giving your body what it needs keeps you feeling great.

For supper, we had tacos. The taco filling was a mixture of patty pan squash, onion, tomato, ground beef from a nearby farm, and seasoning.

For supper, we had tacos. The taco filling was a mixture of patty pan squash, onion, tomato, ground beef from a nearby farm, and seasoning.

 

When you are hungry, many times it’s because your body has a legitimate need that you have not fulfilled, even though you may have just finished off a pint of ice cream or a bag of chips, or even something “healthy” like pasta prima vera. (It’s low it fat, and even had  few bites of broccoli, right?) The veggies that Dr. Wahls recommends, particularly if organically or bio-dynamically grown, are some of the most nutrient dense foods on the planet. So, your body is really happy to get them.

We served the tacos with a bit of rice and pinto beans, and a pile of avocado and shredded leaf lettuce. We were all disappointed that we had run out of salsa!

We served the tacos with a bit of rice and pinto beans, and a pile of avocado and shredded leaf lettuce. We were all disappointed that we had run out of salsa!

If this idea of 3 plates full is a bit overwhelming to you, don’t give up! Start with just implementing an idea or 2 from this post or one of the many blogs or sites on the internet. Work up to it gradually. I think it’s helpful to have this goal in mind while staying tuned in to the needs of your own individual body, and the demands of your own life. If you’ve found a great way to incorporate more vegetables into your diet, I’d love to hear about it.

1 Comment

    Trackbacks

    1. Super Veggies! | MollieSong

    Leave a Reply

