Feeling Inspired After A Year

A notification appeared from WordPress this week. Apparently, I have been blogging for a year now! Rather than take a look back at my own year (that’s easy enough to do on a WordPress blog), I’d like to see what the rest of the world is up to, and show you a couple of things I find inspiring.

This photo marks another milestone, my 50th birthday

This photo marks another milestone, my 50th birthday

I think I’m seeing a slow, forward movement in the right direction in regard to food, and understanding food. What strikes me most is that I’m seeing “ordinary” people making changes for more real food. I know of several moms who have, in this past year, made significant changes in the ways they feed their families. They are choosing to avoid GMOs, eliminating gluten, eliminating sugar, cooking more at home, canning at home, gardening, and more.

Does that sound radical? In some cases, these families were enduring symptoms including stomach cramping, bloating, elimination issues, migraines, severe anxiety, and even autism – all of which have been greatly reduced or completely wiped out by the dietary changes! Yet even when difficult symptoms are the motivation, change can take time, and set-backs can happen. I am proud of each of the individuals I know who are hanging in there.

Julie Montague's Rose Truffles - check out her blog "The Flexie Foodie," on WordPress

Julie Montague’s Rose Truffles – check out her blog “The Flexie Foodie,” on WordPress

This is another positive thing I’m seeing: people are taking it upon themselves to educate themselves and their friends and families. I often hear disgusted commentary about the “ignorant masses.” Who are we talking about, exactly, when we use this kind of term? I have met rich and poor, educated and up-standing citizens and drop-out “druggies,” and all sorts in between. Every one of these folks had a story, and every one of them cared about something, once a real conversation ensued. The problems are massive. Yet, everyone who has actually seen a factory farm or film of one is affected by it. A few people, I understand, see dollar signs and don’t care about the harm involved. But lots of folks that have been unaware are now responding.

There are more great resources for foodies and health nuts than ever! Check out Pintrest or Facebook, if you don’t believe it. Or YouTube, or Twitter. Michael Pollan has a new book out. It’s called, “Cooked.” Here is a quote I grabbed from it, though I have not yet had the pleasure of reading it. (It’s on my short list!)

Michael Pollan                    photo by Ken Light

Michael Pollan photo by Ken Light

“To ferment your own food is to lodge a small but eloquent protest—on behalf of the senses and the microbes—against the homogenization of flavors and food experiences now rolling like a great, undifferentiated lawn across the globe. It is also a declaration of independence from an economy that would much prefer we remain passive consumers of its standardized commodities, rather than creators of idiosyncratic products expressive of ourselves and of the places where we live, because your pale ale or sourdough bread or kimchi is going to taste nothing like mine or anyone else’s.”

Want to be inspired to eat your vegetables? Take a look at this 17 minute video (click here) by Dr. Terry Wahls, one of my new heroes. Or, get her book, “Minding My Mitochondria.”          (Click here for the link.) Want to know how people are living a really long time in certain areas of the world? I was able to hear a lecture by Dan Buettner not long ago about his new book, “The Blue Zones.” Here is the link to his website: (Click here). Want to see a great new ad for good food (only about 3 minutes long)? Click here for the “Scarecrow” ad on YouTube.

 

from Scarecrow Chipotle ad

 

I don’t like to complain and criticize. I’d do it more if I thought it would actually help! So, I try to stick with what, I believe, just may help – inspiring others to do what they can for their health and for others. If you know of something inspiring that you’d like to share with me, please feel free to do so. I love hearing from you!

1 Comment

  1. The scarecrow ad is BEE-YOO-TEE-FUL!

Leave a Reply

