Sourdough Pancakes (Yum!)

In my household, I am considered an early riser. I get up between 6 and 7, which does not seem early at all to some of you, I know. Today, I decided to make sourdough pancakes, because I can start them early, let them sit until late morning, and then fix a sort of brunch for the masses (visiting children).

What really is more ideal is to start the batter the afternoon or evening prior to making the pancakes. I did not have the forethought for that. But, even after a couple of hours, the batter is nice, a little sour, and slightly more nutritious than when it started.

DSCN5243

There are lots of variations for gluten-free sourdough pancakes. One thing I always try to include is buckwheat flour. I just think it makes a wonderful pancake! So, I started with 1 cup of buckwheat flour and 3/4 cup brown rice flour. I then added 2 Tbsp each coconut flour, tapioca flour, and all purpose gluten-free flour from Bob’s Red Mill. (For simplicity, you could use just the rice flour and buckwheat flour.)

Next, I threw in a couple of tablespoons of plain yogurt. You could really use anything cultured here, like kombucha, lacto-fermented cider vinegar, or juice from any fermented fruit. (I say this for those who cannot have dairy at all.) Finally, I added enough water to mix it all together into a stiff batter, about 1 1/2 cups. Don’t add too much water at this point! We’ll be adding more liquid in a few hours…

DSCN5247

Now that anywhere from 2-24 hours has passed, we can add the rest of the stuff. In my smaller Nutri-Bullet cup (have I mentioned that I absolutely LOVE this appliance?) I put 1/2 a ripe banana, 2 pastured eggs, and 1-2 tbsp each chia, sesame, and sunflower seeds and pecans. I also put in about a tablespoon of coconut oil and, after zipping it around for about 30 seconds, I added about 1/2 cup water and blended it for another 15 seconds.

Next, I sprinkled 1/2 tsp salt and 1 tsp baking soda (aluminum-free) over the top of the soured batter in the bowl, then added the mixture from the blender. I ended up needing a little more water to make it the right consistency.

DSCN5249

I love cooking pancakes in my cast iron skillet, so I heated it up and put in a nice slice of butter. I cooked the pancakes so that the edges were a little crispy. We poured on a little pure maple syrup and all had a fabulous breakfast!

DSCN5251

 

2 Comments

  1. I would just like to testify that they were DANG GOOD!…

Leave a Reply

