I’ve Got News For You

Summers are supposed to be “lazy,” aren’t they? For me, the pace of summer usually is slower; but these past 2 weeks have sped by so quickly that I really am behind on posts. So, this one will be more or less a newsy update. I barely know where to begin!

Joshua Rosenthal in Denver

Joshua Rosenthal in Denver

First, I had the great honor & pleasure of meeting Joshua Rosenthal in Denver recently! This man is a great inspiration to me, and he happens to be the founder and primary teacher of the Institute for Integrative Nutrition, my school. While in the area, Mr. Rosenthal held a meeting for current students & recent graduates, which I was able to attend with several classmates & friends. I was imagining a large room full of hundreds of students, and hoped for the possibility to sit near the front. But, as my friends & I came up the stairs toward the meeting room, there he was standing at the door to greet us!

The thing that is most inspiring about this man is that he desires to spread his message of better health to everyone, and he is really able to make his message accessible on a widespread basis, to “regular” people. This is a far cry from when I was growing up. “Health nuts” were “hippies” and “health food” all tasted like cardboard, or worse. Joshua Rosenthal is all about good nutrition, including and especially the things that are not food (like physical activity, good relationships, and spirituality). And he understands that being healthy is a means to an end, to allow us to live well.

Northern Colorado IINers with Joshua in Denver (that's me on the left.)

Northern Colorado IINers with Joshua in Denver (that’s me on the left.)

Another thing that happened this week was my Girl’s Night Out dinner with fellow health coach, Erin of Well Rebellion, “Too Hot To Cook.” It was great! Our eBook with recipes and tips for summer meals will be available soon. I forgot to take photos, so just imagine a group of smiling women, eating and talking.

Health Coach Erin of Well Rebellion

Health Coach Erin of Well Rebellion

Also, I have a cool event coming up with Master Herbalist  Julie Formby: a webinar called “Optimize Your Energy” on re-energizing your life! This webinar will be free of charge; but you’ll have to register to hold your place and to receive your passcode for joining. Click here and then click on the oval in the “Optimize Your Energy” box to register. It will take place on August 29, from 6-7pm MST. This event will be a “free taste” of our up-coming group program. Don’t miss it!

"Loveland Ladder," my 2013 Transformations electrical box

“Loveland Ladder,” my 2013 Transformations electrical box

Let’s see…I finished my Transformations electrical box for the City of Loveland this week. I took my teenage daughter to the DMV to get her driver’s permit. My garden is growing like mad. My car is in the shop, and one more thing.

a bit of my garden- can you spot the gorgeous purple peppers?

a bit of my garden- can you spot the gorgeous purple peppers?

Oh yes, I know what it is: I’m officially a Certified Health Coach! I finished my program with IIN, and received my certification in the mail! Since my 50th birthday is next month, this certification is my gift to myself. Health & nutrition have always interested and fascinated me. Now, I can actually use my own knowledge to help other people, and that is exciting!

My certification from the American Association of Drugless Practitioners!

My certification from the American Association of Drugless Practitioners!

3 Comments

  1. THAT IS WHAT I WANT TO DO! Thanks for sharing your experience with IIN! I want to know more. 🙂

    • You’d be great for health coaching, and IIN is the best program I’ve found- I really love it! Check out my website at LifeSongNutrition.com, and you can connect with IIN from there. (Students get a website as part of the school experience!) A rep from the school will be happy to talk with you and answer any questions you might have. Let me know how it goes for you.

Leave a Reply

