Red, White, and Blue- Happy Independence Day

“The 4th of July,” I remind myself, is not actually the name of this holiday. A friend who was born on Independence Day tells me that it was years before she understood that the celebrations & fireworks were not actually meant only for her birthday! America is not perfect, but it is a fine place in which to live.

Rather than spending a lot of time talking about my perspective on our country, I am going to keep this post short. I’m VERY close, as of this date, to finishing my program at the Institute for Integrative Nutrition! As such, I have a great deal of work to do. But I did not want this day to pass without at least a simple post related to the day’s festivities.

Keeping with a red, white, and blue theme, I’ve chosen a “seasonal favorite” in each color.

dark-red-cherries

Red: cherries! They come in various shades, but they’re all basically red, as far as I know. Cherries are good for you, it’s true. They also taste delicious and are pretty versatile, being found in everything from liquor to desserts to meat sauces. Here’s a quick article I found on the benefits of eating these summer fruits (click here).

Pics from camera, transferred 2013 006

White: baking soda. I use a LOT of this stuff! I use it in baking, which I don’t do so much any more. However, I still make some sort of pancakes a couple of times each month, and they nearly always include baking soda. I also use it to scrub my sinks & toilets, dirty pots & pans, and other things that need cleaning. As mentioned in a previous post, I use it to brush my teeth. I dump it down my sink to help keep down odors, and sprinkle it into my indoor compost bucket for the same reason.

Okay, this blue thing is perhaps the best of the best! A really perfect flower, the blue morning glory. I can’t pass these simple blooms without stopping to admire them–ever!

Morning Glory Ipomoea tricolor Heavenly Blue

1 Comment

    Trackbacks

    1. Red, White And Blue | this man's journey

    Leave a Reply

