A Little Help From My Friends (A Guest Post)

It is rare that I (Mollie’s daughter, Sierra, guest blogger for the day) wake up on any day of the week and announce, “I have nothing to do today!” But on this Saturday, I have a little respite: the day after throwing a bridal shower and before leaving town.

Sierra in Lisbon

Sierra (In Portugal)

When I made my declaration, my mother said, “Do you wanna write my blog for me?”  She had just finished telling me that she has wanted to participate in a local garden tour for the last several years, but has never had the chance (and today was looking like no exception).  I don’t think she was serious when she asked me if I wanted to write her blog, but here I am! Why not? The only condition was that I had to bring it back to health, so let’s get that out of the way…

Since I was in high school, I have struggled with the very unhealthy habit of over-commitment; I call it PPS (Passionate Person Syndrome). Everything sounds fun to me or like it would grow me as a person or give a me unique experience, so I tend to take on too much. There are those people though, who seem to do everything to the fullest without ever tiring and I can think of two in particular, common friends of my mother and me, Kristin & Melissa.  These women are incredible! They are everywhere, they raise families, they are healthy and fit; the amount that they accomplish in a day is unreal.  And they never seem tired.

In relation to both the bridal shower and this morning, I think I discovered the secret of the women that I know to be most productive: asking for help. As a kid, my dear friend, Grace, would always say, “It doesn’t cost money to ask.” Asking-specifically asking for help-is a powerful thing.

At the end of the night when everyone was leaving the bridal shower, I received many generous compliments about the event. Maybe that’s just etiquette because everyone knows how much pressure there can be when you’re a hostess. Yet, I feel that it truly was a success! Props to me, right? Wrong! Props to all the women who helped.

Bridal Pictionary

Bridal Pictionary

I did not mean to delegate so much; but by the time both sides of the family, the other brides maids, one of those stunningly productive women, and my mom offered their services, I was full of ideas, emotional support, and the dinner and location were taken care of.  I work full time. It would have been impossible to make all this happen on my own! I relied on the services, finances, creativity, and wisdom of eight other ladies to make this event a success.

There is an important lesson here to be learned from my the success of the shower, the brief conversation with my mother this morning, and those ultra-productive, never-tiring women friends (Kristin & Melissa).  If two heads are better than one and many hands make light work, then we should take advantage of our friends (come on, you know what I mean).

Every time I am at either Kristin or Melissa’s home, there are always small favors being asked of me, such as: Will you watch the kids for a minute? Can you stir the soup? Will you grab that bottle of sunscreen? I love those kids, I’d be happy to stir the soup, and yes, I can bring that bottle of sunscreen. And it made her life that much easier. True, sometimes they ask bigger favors of me. But, guess what? I just hosted a bridal shower at Melissa’s house and I will take up residence in Kristin’s home (for a few months) this fall.

I think you get the point. We all have certain things we can offer and we all need help. The trick is being humble and strong enough to ask for it.

2 Comments

  1. so true ..humble -& strong enough to ask…

    • Thanks for reading, Kathy! I hope you and Joe are doing well, enjoying summer.

Leave a Reply

