Snacking With Benefits-Favorite Snack List

Do you tend to get into a rut with your food? Go to the same vending machine every day and select the same snack? I usually become rather obsessed with a few items and eat them over and over until I’m sick of them. I do this because I really really like the food. My husband, on the other hand, goes back to the same foods repeatedly because it’s convenient. He says that he doesn’t have to think about his food choices then.

When you have a food allergy or sensitivity, it’s even harder not to get stuck in a rut. I’ve compiled a little list of snack ideas that may inspire you if you have special dietary restrictions, or if you’ll be entertaining such a person this summer. People can be allergic to anything. I’ve met people with allergies to seafood, citrus fruits, nuts, cinnamon, and even sugar. So, these ideas are meant to help you navigate; but keep in mind that they still may include a problem food for someone.

1) Hummus with baby carrots. It’s easy to make hummus in the food processor, or pick some up in your store refrigerator. I’ll be posting a recipe in the near future.

2) Celery sticks with almond or cashew butter.

I like to keep a selection of nut and seed butters.

I like to keep a selection of nut and seed butters.

3) Sunflower seeds and green smoothie (like Naked juice- be careful about sugar here. Most of these bottles are really 2 or more servings, so I drink about 1/4 of a bottle with a handful of nuts or seeds for a surprisingly filling snack.)

Sunflower Seeds

Sunflower Seeds

4) Yogurt of kefir. You can find all sorts of options here now, even dairy-free ones. My family likes to sprinkle granola or trail mix in.

5) Berries. Paired with yogurt or nuts, or just plain.

Strawberries

Strawberries

6) Dried fruit. Raisins, craisins, figs and dates are just of few options here. I like these if I’m going to be somewhere without refrigeration. Again, be mindful of sugar. Pair with protein.

7) Baby greens with leftover fish, chicken, or beef. Add a favorite dressing and this is a fine, easy little salad. Throw in a few cherry tomatoes and an avocado slice and it becomes lunch.

8) Popcorn. I like to use an air popper because it’ easy but does not have a plastic-lined bag like microwave popcorn. You need a bit of melted butter, olive oil spray, or something to make salt stick.

9) Gluten free whole grain toast. My favorite brand of gluten free bread is from Canyon Bakehouse. (Click here to connect with them.) I make a really great loaf of G.F. bread, but it takes forever, so I don’t make it often. I eat very little bread of any kind, but once in a while, it’s a perfect snack.

Experimenting with frozen fruit desserts...

Experimenting with frozen fruit desserts…

10) Home made sorbet or frozen dessert. There are several really nice recipes on the internet right now which involve using a food processor. I tried one recently, and I have to warn you to let your frozen stuff warm up just a bit before trying to process it if your freezer works as well as mine. I just about burned out my machine! These recipes use mostly fruit. When I find my favorites, I’ll post a recipe or 2.

If you have some great snack ideas, I’d love to hear them!

2 Comments

  1. You definitely hit many of my favorite snacks!! Another good one is a scoop of low-fat cottage cheese with a chopped apple, cinnamon, and some nuts to top it off 🙂

    • Sounds great! I love cinnamon too. I tend to forget about this type of thing since I’ve had to eliminate most dairy from my diet. Thanks for the great suggestion!

Leave a Reply

