Spicy Trail Mix (a Recipe)

Remember when I said that trail mix made a great snack for hiking? Well, it so happens that my hubby and I plan to hike tomorrow in a place I’ve never visited. Grand Junction, Colorado is  on the other side of the state from where I live, and we have a business meeting there in a couple of days. Nearby, there is a place called the “Colorado National Monument.” It sounds like a statue, doesn’t it? Instead, it’s apparently like a miniature Grand Canyon!

Colorado National Monument- This is one of many glorious views.

Colorado National Monument- This is one of many glorious views.

Yes, I did end up hiking in a skirt! The trail was more intense than what the guide book described.

Yes, I did end up hiking in a skirt! The trail was more intense than what the guide book described.

Aromatherapy with cardamonAromatherapy with cardamon

For our hike, I made spicy trail mix. We’ll pack a bit of fruit, some celery and carrot sticks, Scott will bring a sandwich, I’ll bring some hummus, and we’ll have this glorious trail mix, which I rarely make. It’s not difficult; but it can be a little tedious if you use cardamon pods. Please feel free to use ground cardamon! I had the pods in the cupboard already. Besides, it’s a nice dose of aromatherapy just opening the pods and crushing up the stuff.

Here’s what you’ll need:

Raisins, dried cranberries, crystallized ginger, dried pineapple, cashews, and pumpkin seeds

Trail mix ingredients

Trail mix ingredients

Then you’ll need some spices and bits of these things:

Butter, egg white (optional), 1 tsp. cinnamon, 1/4 tsp. cardamon (ground or crushed), 1/4 tsp. paprika, chili powder (optional), black pepper (optional), 1 tbsp. organic sugar, 1 tbsp unsweetened shredded coconut, unsweetened carob chips. Adjust quantities to your liking. I used about a handful or 2 of each of the nuts and fruits.

DSCN4969

Here’s what you’ll do:

Pre-heat oven to 400 degrees.

I never put dried fruit in the oven. If I did it would come out too dry.

I never put dried fruit in the oven. If I did it would come out too dry.

Melt about a tablespoon of butter or coconut oil in a heavy skillet. Add the cashews and pumpkin seeds, then sprinkle in the spices. In a small bowl, beat up the egg white (if using) and add a teaspoon of water, then beat a little more. You actually only need about a tablespoon or 2 of this, so save the rest (and the yolk) for pancakes or something. Pour over nut mixture and mix immediately. Add coconut and stir in well. Now place the pan in the oven for about 20 minutes. Make sure your skillet is oven safe. Stir about half way through.

Meanwhile, in a large bowl, mix your other ingredients. When the nuts are toasted and out of the oven, let them cool completely, so your chips won’t melt. When it’s all cool, mix everything together. Now, that was pretty easy, right? Happy hiking!

We took a shortcut and had to squeeze through a tiny space.

We took a shortcut and had to squeeze through a tiny space.

2 Comments

  1. I’m so happy that you did this!…

    • OK…I wrote that before I actually tasted the trail mix. Now, having tasted it, I have to say it was RIDICULOUSLY GOOD!!!…

Leave a Reply

