Snacking With Benefits

Experts sometimes talk about our ancestry as though they understand exactly what we should be doing based upon what they know our forefathers/mothers did. I was not alive 2000 or 10,000 or more years ago, and it seems like a lot of speculation to make such claims. I’ve heard both sides of the snacking argument, and I’m not sure quite where I land, since much of what I hear is based on speculation.

DSCN4958

Dr. John Douillard, someone I respect tremendously, got me to thinking about snacking when he spoke at my school (IIN) last fall. He encouraged us to get to the point where we could eliminate snacking and eat a reasonable breakfast, a larger meal before 2pm, and maybe a light supper. Check out his article & short video (click here) on the topic, as well as any others on his website. I don’t hear this viewpoint articulated often in the media, probably because nobody makes any money by not selling snack foods.

On the other hand, there are many, many articles and interviews which promote eating every 2 hours, eating 6 “small meals” each day, and similar strategies for controlling blood sugar. I think this plan is flawed on so many levels. If your blood sugar is so unstable that you have to eat every 2 hours (as I once did), something deeper is going on, and I’d strongly encourage you to go after the root cause. You can contact me (click here) for a free initial consultation by phone, Skype, or in person.

Still, there are times when a great snack is in order. Hiking, swimming, Frisbee golf, tennis- all this fun makes me hungry! This time of year, fruit is in season, delicious, and portable. Paired with a good trail mix loaded with nuts, fruit can make a fine snack to pack.

my son, Joel

my son, Joel

According to a newsletter put out by Integrative Nutrition, here are some of the benefits you can reap from the following fruits:

Apricots- good for lung conditions and asthma, high copper & cobalt make it good in the treatment of anemia

Cherries- increased energy, good for arthritis & rheumatism, rich in iron which can improve blood

cherries

cherries

Grapefruit- treats poor digestion, alleviates intestinal gas, reduces mucus conditions in the lungs

Papaya- digestive aid, moistens lungs & alleviates coughing, contains carpaine, an anti-tumor compound

Raspberries- good for the liver & kidneys, cleanses blood, helps regulate menstrual cycle, can promote labor during childbirth

Apples

Apples

If you’ve been following me at all, you probably know that I’m not a fan of sugar. Be advised that fruit does contain sugar. Yes, I know it is natural sugar, and that it is accompanied by fiber. Your body still has to deal with the sugar, so keep in mind that too much fruit can cause similar issues as drinking soda & eating candy.

I’m planning to post some of my favorite snacks in my next post, In the meantime, enjoy seasonal fruit, even as a between-meal snack on occasion. (Keyword: enjoy!)

Leave a Reply

