Favorite Spring Super-Smoothie

Strawberries are in season! I just received a quart of organic strawberries in my bi-weekly produce box from local provider Green Buffalo. According to a flyer that came with my strawberries, more than half of 7-9-year-old kiddos say this is their favorite fruit. Good choice! A cup of these berries has plenty of antioxidants like Vitamin C, fiber, and only 55 calories. And since they taste fabulous, I decided to come up with a smoothie recipe featuring strawberries.

Strawberry Green Smoothie

Strawberry Green Smoothie

All of my smoothie these days are “Nutri-Blast” smoothies, which means you can really only properly make them using a Nutri-Bullet. I’ve had lots of cheaper blenders, and ended up with unpleasant chunks in my smoothies. These handy machines really do a good job of pulverizing everything I put in, which makes it possible to sort of hide good stuff like super-foods in the blend. (A Vita-Mix works too; but I do not have one.)

Each of these Nutri-Blast recipes starts out pretty much the same: fill the cup 1/2 full with green leafy stuff. In this recipe, I use Swiss Chard, because it is huge & beautiful right now! Be sure to rotate your greens every few days, as each kind contains different nutrients, & also different anti-nutrients. (To learn more about this, click here to see a 9 minute clip from the Renegade Health Show.)

To the Swiss Chard I added a bit of cilantro, a chunk of cucumber, a tomatillo, and 1/4 of an avocado.

To the Swiss Chard I added a bit of cilantro, a chunk of cucumber, a tomatillo, and 1/4 of an avocado.

I nearly always shred up a bit of root veggie to put into a smoothie, usually beet, carrot, or in this case, yam.

Shredding the yam helps it incorporate well & minimized wear-and-tear on the blender. I ended up with around 1/2 cup.

Shredding the yam helps it incorporate well & minimized wear-and-tear on the blender. I ended up with around 1/2 cup.

Now comes the fruit. No need to trim the green tops of the berries. I did trim off a couple of mushy brown bits though.

This completes the produce pile. Yum!

This completes the produce pile. Yum!

The next step is to add the liquid. I found some lovely peach Kombucha I made a month or so ago in my fridge. I don’t like a really strong taste of kombucha in the smoothie, so I added about 1/2 cup.

Home made peach kombucha

Home made peach kombucha

Next, it was time to add one of my favorite products: So Delicious coconut creamer. I put in about 1/4 cup. I also added a bit of water, to bring the level of the liquid up to about 2/3 of the level of the produce.

coconut creamer

coconut creamer

The last thing to go in was a little handful of goodness consisting of flax seeds & pistachios. Cashew butter is great in this recipe too; but I ran out yesterday. You could also add maca at this stage (which I also did yesterday.)

pistachios & flax seeds

pistachios & flax seeds

Blend & drink. Happy Spring!

3 Comments

  1. Smoothies amaze me, interesting how you can add so many different flavors and textures and they always end up tasting great.

  2. It’s true, Grndma Chris! That’s how I end up “sneaking” so many healthful ingredients in there. The avocado is a favorite because it’s nutritious & makes it really creamy. Thanks for stopping by again. I hope you’re enjoying springtime.

Trackbacks

  1. It’s Spring! What’s For Breakfast? | MollieSong

Leave a Reply

