Does Fresh Juice Beat a Smoothie? (And a Word About Juicers)

Well….that depends on what you want. If you’ve read my post on smoothies, you know I’m a big fan–I have one nearly every day! But that doesn’t mean I’m not a juice lover.  Maybe you’ve heard that smoothies are superior because they use the whole fruit, so you get the fiber & everything that naturally occurs in the fruit & veggies. Maybe you’ve heard that juice is superior because without the fiber, you can absorb a higher concentration of nutrients, more directly & quickly–sort of like a supplement of anti-oxidants and micro-nutrients.

Greens, berries, nuts & seeds... lots of flavor

Greens, berries, nuts & seeds… lots of flavor

So, my answer is, “YES!” But, there may be times when one is better for you than the other. If you are battling a specific illness, or if you are trying to lose a large amount of weight & are fasting, juice may be the better choice for you. Keep in mind that it takes a lot more produce to make a 16 ounce glass of veggie/fruit juice than it does to make a 16 ounce smoothie; so you’re getting the nutrients from all of that stuff you use to make your juice.

The down side to this is that juice can be a source of A LOT of sugar. If you make apple, carrot, ginger juice, for example, you could be creating an undesirable rise in your blood sugar, which will be followed by a fall in your sugar level (i.e. crash). If you have cancer, the sugar you take in could be feeding the cancer. There is some controversy over all of this– I know of cancer patients who have done very well with carrot juice. My recommendation here is to work with a qualified health care professional. A possible solution would be to make your juice mostly of veggies, especially green ones. Obviously, if you have diabetes or candida, you are watching your sugars, so this applies to you, especially.

Use greens in juice & smoothies

Use greens in juice & smoothies

This has nothing to do with the topic, but I am excited to report that my daffodils are about to bloom!

This has nothing to do with the topic, but I am excited to report that my daffodils are about to bloom!

So what about a juicer? Which one is best? Someone whose opinion I greatly respect as to this topic is David Wolfe. He said something to this effect: “That juicer you have in your cabinet that you’re not using–that’s the best one to use.” I agree. But, if you’re really looking for the best one, again, it depends on what you want.

27 years ago, when I was expecting my first child, my sister-in-law gave me a Champion Juicer. At the time, there was none better. It is still going strong. I take really good care of it, and I use it 2 or 3 times a week. The Champion has the reputation for extracting a maximum nutrient level from the produce you use. Another juicer, the Green Power, also has such a reputation, with the added benefit that you can also use it for wheat grass and similar kinds of juice (which the Champion cannot do). Really, any juicer is good to start; and if you love making & drinking juice, you can upgrade later.

My 27 year old Champion

My 27 year old Champion

Since a fair number of folks purchase juicers which seldom (if ever) are used, you can sometimes find a used juicer. Or, try putting out requests at health food stores or on Craig’s List or even facebook.

You’ve probably figured out by now that I drink both fresh juice & smoothies. I highly recommend both! Do be aware that it’s an investment of your time and hard-earned cash to do either of these. And cleaning appliances such as these is never very fun. Please don”t let that stop you! And one final note. In case you missed my post about movies, check out “Fat, Sick, & Nearly Dead,” and interesting documentary about healing with juice. (Just Google it. I was able to watch the whole thing for free.)

5 Comments

  1. cvheerden

    When leaving for South Africa, one thing I gave away was my juicer. (20kg allowed luggage on the plane makes for a great opportunity to clean house). The facebook idea might just work!!! Really miss making my own juice.

  2. I am in fact pleased to read this webpage posts which contains plenty of useful information, thanks for providing these data.

  3. I like the helpful info you provide in your articles.
    I’ll bookmark your blog and check again here regularly. I am quite certain I will learn lots of new stuff right here! Good luck for the next!

Leave a Reply

