Movies & Things I’ve been Watching

One of the best things about technology is that we can know what’s actually going on to a greater degree than in previous times. Once upon a time, you had to wait until a presidential candidate arrived in your area on a train to know what he looked like! And, not so long ago, it might be days, or at least hours, before we all knew the biggest news of the day. When I was growing up, there were usually 3 or 4 television channels from which we could choose, and a couple of newspapers my parents regularly read. Part of the problem for me was that it was sometimes difficult to get at the truth about issues I cared about.

“Food Inc” was one of the first movies I saw about modern food & health. Shortly after that, I saw “Fast Food Nation.” I’ve always liked documentaries (because I’m just nerdy like that.) These movies were exciting to me. “The truth is getting out there!” I thought. Not long ago. I saw “Bag It.” The man who made that one is from Colorado. It’s entertaining & informative, mostly about the evils of plastics & synthetic chemicals, & I loved it.

I wanted to pass along some of these titles to you, just in case you have a health nerd component to your personality, or, like me, a bit of an obsession.

As I mentioned in a previous post, Jorge Cruise has a movie, “Death By Sugar,” which will be good, I’m sure. I’m sorry to say I have not yet watched it; but just type in the title on youtube & the trailer comes up. While you’re at it, you could watch “Sugar: The Bitter Truth” with Dr. Robert Lustig, just in case you aren’t convinced.

There are also more movies about the food & health such as “Forks Over Knives” by Lee Fulkerson, “The Skinny on Obesity,” which is really more of a series of short talks, & “In Search of the Perfect Human Diet.” One I particularly enjoyed was “Fat, Sick, & Nearly Dead.” I loved the way one man’s quest for health inspired another, & he inspired a whole town, & other folks …maybe it’s still going (I hope).

It’s important to note that I do not necessarily agree with every statement or conclusion expressed in the above pieces. But there’s great information being shared every day, & I think it’s changing our health picture in a good way.

One more thing I’d like to mention here is that there are numerous TED talks on youtube that are worth seeing. These talks are short, about 15 minutes each. TED talks are available on many topics, & I’ve seen quite a few related to health & wellness that are excellent. One addressed something I’ve blogged about: what Joshua Rosenthal calls “primary food.” These are the things that, I believe, have a more powerful effect on physical health than food we eat. It’s things like relationships, spirituality, & physical activity. Lissa Rankin, a physician who practiced as an OB-GYN, has a TEDxFiDiWomen  talk on this subject.

If you have 15 minutes or a couple of hours to sit & watch, check out some of the documentaries on the web or at your video store or library. If you find a good one, I’d love to hear about it!

1 Comment

  1. Thank you I know what I’m doing this weekend

Leave a Reply

