Lazy Snow Day

The blizzard has taken us by surprise; but then, who is surprised by a snow storm in Colorado in February? And so, the person I was going to interview for my next post is in a nearby town, while my minivan is pretty inaccessible & the roads less than optimal for driving.

Our neighbor's blue spruce with dollops of snow

Our neighbor’s blue spruce with dollops of snow

So, I am content to post a few photos of the lovely town in which I am blessed to live, & to pass along a few snowy day sentiments. Scott & I love the snow, generally, especially if we do not have to attempt driving. So we bundled up & walked a couple of blocks to a neighborhood church this morning. A different congregation is meeting in this building now than a few years ago when a similar circumstance landed us in that same location. It was delightful to meet some new folks in our very own neck of the woods. We got lots of attention, due partly to the fact that only about 12 people showed up.

After church, we walked a few more blocks to our favorite coffee shop, Coffee Tree. We were concerned that it may not be open; but we need not have worried. We were in the good company of other Coloradans who were not afraid of a few (12 or so) inches of snow. (By the way, in case you’re interested, Coffee Tree has the best coffee in the entire world. From a health standpoint, points of view are mixed. I personally can’t tolerate the fully caffeinated version except early in the morning…but that’s another topic!)

We are now settled in, & ready to embark on a game of “Settlers of Catan” with our daughter & her friend. But whenever it snows like this, I remember other times when we Freemans have braved the weather for the sake of enjoyment of this wonderful white stuff. When the 2 oldest boys were in preschool & kindergarten, their teachers were appalled when we ditched school one snowy morning to go sledding. In our family, sometimes recreation is more important than education!  DSCN4674

Then there was the time Scott & I walked downtown in Kansas City to have some wine & cheese during a snowstorm. The streets were empty, & it was gloriously beautiful. Another day, January 18, 1997, we dressed out 4 children in coats, hats, mittens, etc. and walked to a nearby park to sled down the many hills. I remember the date because I was in labor with Renee, our youngest. She was born at 1:00 the next morning.

Here is my thought: at the Institute of Integrative Nutrition, there is a lot of emphasis on finding what you love, or learning to love what you have found. It applies to career, especially, but also to where you live, I think. I love Colorado & snow. I love to be outside, & it’s good for me to breathe the fresh air & take in the beauty created by this weather. It was a bit of a “leap of faith” to move out here from Kansas City; but the payoff has been huge! I think I am happier here than any place I could imagine, & that is worth so much.

Snowy garden angel

Snowy garden angel

If you are feeling “stuck” in your job or living situation, I encourage you to consider whether you would be willing or able to make a change– perhaps a big change. If not, think about what you can do to learn to love the situation you have. If you are profoundly discontent, a health coach can help you identify a new direction, & make changes either big or small.

5 Comments

  1. I have nominated you for the Liebster Blog Award. To receive your reward, check out this link http://cookingforthechemicallysensitive.wordpress.com/2013/02/27/liebster-blog-award.

  2. brrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr! looks cold…

    • Not so bad. We’re used to it. We bundle up & get right out there in it! Besides, there’s not much wind or humidity, so it doesn’t feel as bad as it looks.

      • still looks cold.
        (hey! I get cold in Santa Monica! No really, I get stuffed up and start sneezing. I think I’m called to the Sahara Desert.)
        Thanks for recommending your husband’s blog. What a treat to read about his college days!

Leave a Reply

