Vegetables Incognito (A Recipe, Sort Of)

Flexibility is not just for hamstrings. I like to keep my menus flexible, too. Like so many people, I can get in a rut with meals, so, over the years I’ve figured out how to add in enough variety to generally satisfy the carefree portion of my spirit.

Once a week or so, I force myself to attempt cooking with as many leftovers or nearly gone ingredients (from my fridge) as I can manage. I keep A LOT of produce in there, which I don’t worry about using, because I eat it constantly. So, mostly, it’s things like the leftover black beans & rice I’ve used in tonight’s soup. A couple of days ago, my family used these items to make burritos (which I used differently, due to not eating wheat or corn tortillas). Now, they will make a fine soup, with a fairly different flavor. And importantly, this is easy & pretty quick to make, as well.

Another feature of this method is that I can put in all sorts of objectionable but nutritious vegetables without incurring the wrath of certain family members. I’ve gotten away with putting onions, kale, squash, green beans, and many other veggies in soups such as this one. The trick is to use the veggies they like whole, along with wonderful seasonings. Then blend the others with broth or coconut milk, or in this case, beans & broth. If you eat cheese, that can be a nice addition, too.

So, while this is a recipe, it’s really a suggestion for a method of making soups in general. It’s also a way to incorporate more vegetables & nutritious ingredients. It also works well for sauces.

Enjoy!

All the stuff for the soup: leftover brown rice & seasoned black beans, organic chicken sausage (cooked), baby spinach, onions, homemade bone broth (chicken),& nori (seaweed)

All the stuff for the soup: leftover brown rice & seasoned black beans, organic chicken sausage (cooked), baby spinach, onions, homemade bone broth (chicken),& nori (seaweed).  Nori has magnesium, Vitamins C, A, & B2. It is also rich in iodine, which is essential for thyroid health.

First, I cut & sauteed the onions in butter. When translucent, I added 1/2 the broth & nori, & let it warm up to soften.

First, I cut & sauteed the onions in butter. When translucent, I added 1/2 the broth & nori, & let it warm up to soften.

The contents of the skillet were then placed in the Nutri-Bullet (blender) along with about 2/3 of the black beans. I had to do 2 batches.
The contents of the skillet were then placed in the Nutri-Bullet (blender) along with about 2/3 of the black beans. I had to do 2 batches.

DSCN4656

Everything went into the pot-- rest of the beans, rice, sliced sausage...

Everything went into the pot– rest of the beans, rice, sliced sausage…

...the baby spinach, the rest of the broth. Then I put the lid on & placed the whole thing in a 280 degree oven. That way, it was ready in a couple of hours when we wanted to eat it.
…the baby spinach, the rest of the broth. Then I put the lid on & placed the whole thing in a 300 degree oven. That way, it was ready in a couple of hours when we wanted to eat it. If you wanted it sooner, you could put it on the stove top over medium high heat, & stir frequently.

The seasonings that were already in the black beans & the sausage were enough to make the soup delicious!
The seasonings that were already in the black beans & the sausage were enough to make the soup delicious!

2 Comments

  1. brilliant. i’m trying it!

  2. I can testify…It was good!

Leave a Reply

