Natural Cleaners for the Chemically Sensitive and Everyone Else

I’m going to try something new (for me). I made a commitment to step up my computer literacy when I enrolled in an on-line education program, so here goes.

What I’m talking about is this link:

Natural Cleaners for the Chemically Sensitive and Everyone Else.

I found this article on a blog that is new to me, “MCS Gal,” (check it out!) and it’s something I’ve been wanting to address anyway. The fact is that we, as a society, have surrounded ourselves with many toxic chemicals which are expensive and, largely, unnecessary.

Lemon juice is a perfectly safe & fantastic cleaner

Lemon juice is a perfectly safe & fantastic cleaner

I still hear about issues with children getting into chemical cleaners & such under kitchen sinks. I hear about pets accidentally ingesting chemicals, and a lot about people discovering various levels of toxicity in their livers & elsewhere, and I have to wonder why we do these things to ourselves when there are good, inexpensive alternatives to many of these products.

My house is sufficiently clean, I think. Under my kitchen sink, you will find white vinegar, scratchy cleaning pads, a few containers for disposing of the few things that cannot go in my trash can or compost pile, and a small container for compost. Near the sink is always a container of baking soda.

We live in an old house-- spaces like this are not pretty, but neither are they dangerous.

We live in an old house– spaces like this are not pretty, but neither are they dangerous.

I do have a powerful germicide on the top shelf of my linen closet. I have owned it for over 12 years, because I rarely have to use it. As I said, this nasty stuff is on the top shelf, so even when I do have small children or pets around, there’s no fear of anyone “getting into something dangerous.”

I also want to mention a great item I received from a friend as a gift: “Mr. Steamy.” This silly-looking ball goes in the dryer, & helps control static. It can also help steam wrinkles out of clothes. You can use it over & over, & you just fill it with plain water– no chemical products!

"Mr. Steamy," available at Wal Mart

“Mr. Steamy,” available at Wal Mart

Thanks, MCS Gal, for publishing some good stuff. I will be visiting you again soon. Happy Cleaning!

Leave a Reply

