Kale: “Eating Greens is a Special Treat…”

Greens, such as kale, Swiss chard, collard, bok choy, & mustard, are somewhat miraculous foods, in my opinion. Remember Thumper (from Bambi)? “Eating greens is a special treat. It makes long ears & great big feet…but it sure is awful stuff to eat.” Greens are good for us, we know. But some of us find them less than appealing.DSCN4474

Vitamins A, C, E, & K, fiber, folic acid, phyto-chemicals, micro-nutrients–these plants are powerhouses of good health! Some benefits of regularly consuming greens may include: strengthened immune system, circulatory system, strong bones, improved liver & kidney function, healthy gut & so much more. However, unless you’re a rabbit, I promise your ears won’t get TOO big from eating kale.

If you’re one of those folks saying, “but I don’t know how to fix kale,” or “I don’t think I like greens,” I have good news. Fixing greens is easy. There are abundant recipes online, and I’m going to give you my own recipe for fantastic kale. It’s quick, & you only need a few ingredients.

You’ll need: kale, butter or oil, tahini, 1/2 a lemon, a little water, & if you like, either soy sauce or salt. That’s it!

DSCN4477

First,  I like to make my sauce. I start with about a tablespoon of tahini (more if sharing!) I squeeze the lemon over a strainer (for seeds) into a small bowl. Then mix the lemon juice & tahini, using a fork. Then, it seems to get weirdly thick, so I whisk in a little water, still using the fork. I like it to end up pourable, like salad dressing.

DSCN4478

Since kale is one of the “dirty dozen,” I always get organic, often from my garden. Wash & dry kale. Get yourself a good heavy pan. I like to use a cast iron skillet. Heat the pan up to a low-medium temperature. Add a little butter, coconut oil, or what ever kind you prefer. Now put in the kale. You can see from the picture that kale sort of shrinks when cooked, so get a huge mound going. It will be a small serving soon enough. If you like, sprinkle with a little soy sauce or salt. Saute just a minute or so, until the kale is brighter in color. Turn off heat.

DSCN4479

DSCN4480

Serve immediately! I ate my kale with the tahini sauce, a gently cooked free-range egg, & some whole grain, gluten-free crackers. If you know your way around your kitchen, this should take you about 5 minutes, so there’s no reason not to make this delicious meal for breakfast or lunch. Enjoy!

DSCN4481

1 Comment

    Trackbacks

    1. It’s Spring! What’s For Breakfast? | MollieSong

    Leave a Reply

