Apple Pie Recipe, & a Question

For about 20 years, Scott & I lived in Kansas City, Missouri. Apple trees are plentiful there, & it became a family tradition to go apple picking every year in late September, then bake pies all through October, until it was time for pumpkins. I learned to make fruit pies from a woman of an earlier generation, using white sugar, white flour, & corn starch. I have made it a bit healthier & gluten-free; but, essentially, it’s the same recipe she taught me.

I’ll post this in 2 parts– gluten-free crust tomorrow. So, start with a mess of fresh apples. It’ll take more than you think, so get your pie pan & estimate whether you think you have enough apples by eyeballing, then add a few more. It takes about 12-16 apple to fill mine.

Wash your apples, then cut them the way you want them to be in your pie. I like “bite-sized” pieces; some folks like slices. I never peal the apples, as I like the skin & it’s full of nutritious goodies. (This recipe will also work with pears, berries, peaches, or a mixture of fruit.)

Now, put your apple pieces is a bowl, & take about a cup of organic sugar, & pour the sugar over the apples. Now, leave it alone! (Do not stir.)

Apples from our tree & the neighbor’s, soon to be pie!

Cover with a lid or foil, & I’ll tell you what else to do tomorrow. Set your bowl in a cool place, like the fridge if you will be waiting more than 2 hours to make this pie; otherwise, you can just leave it on your counter.

Here is my question: Can someone please share with me how I can make this pie using an alternative natural sweetener? I make pie so infrequently, I’m always afraid to experiment & spoil our tradition. But I’d try it with a good recommendation from you!

1 Comment

  1. I use half stevia in the raw, half sugar, and a tsp-tblsp of cane or sorghum molasses. You have to cut the total sugar content in half, roughly, because the stevia is sweeter than processed sugar. The molasses is from my southern roots, where I was taught to put a little of it in anything remotely sweet, from chili to baked goods and everything in between. It deepens the richness and lends a caramel flavor. I’m curious to find out what others use, too.

Leave a Reply

